MasterPages have been available since WSS 3.0 and MOSS 2007. SharePoint 2010 also has it’s own MasterPages which We can use to integrate the visual layout of our application with the latest Microsoft product. The most important ones are:

1. v4.master – the default, mostly used master page in SharePoint 2010. It’s default masterpage for team sites and sites from the LAYOUTS directory(like site settings).

2. simple.master – created for an error or login pages, can’t be modified, but can be replaced.

3. default.master – masterpage from WSS 3.0 and MOSS 2007, it doesn’t contain ribbon and ajax calls, site actions are on the right side of a site.

4. minimal.master – without ribbon and navigation pane, for applications like Search or Web Applications.